Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Sunset

I like the subtlety of this one. Looks kinda smooth and silky to me, but you be the judge.
Speaking of which, here’s something smooth and silky by Nat King Cole: The Christmas Song

It often reminds me of the story mom told me years ago about my dad. They were young parents, 19 and 20 when I was born, learning as they went along.
Dad liked roasted chestnuts, having had them as a kid. Roasting chestnuts is not rocket science but there are things that must be done before sticking them in the oven. Each chestnut must have an X cut into them, then they have to soak in water for a while. THEN they’re ready for the oven.

My dad, always thinking he knew everything, didn’t cut or soak them. Just stuck them in. When he opened the oven to check on them later, they exploded all over his chest. It must have hurt like heck but I think it’s hysterical because he was always a know-it-all. The nuts actually steam inside the shell, which explains the prep. Every time I think of that story I can picture it. Makes me laugh. Mom roasted them for every Thanksgiving and Christmas after that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.