Capital adventures

By marchmont

And the it snowed

With guests coming for lunch I spent the morning preparing. There being no cooking it was relatively easy. There were also cats to feed and snow to clear and salt and sand to spread. Can't have the 97+ year old mother falling 

J and D arrived first and it was a while before the other three arrived. In retrospect I wish I'd done what I was originally going to do -  'cook' the sides and reheat in a big dish. However all went well and outside it continued to snow, less though. And presents were exchanged. French gin for me, a precursor of tonight's result. Allez les bleus!

After they left I felt curiously flat. I watched the docuseries of the moment. Clearly designed for the US market and weirdly cut and edited. There were also some bits that you knew couldn't be true. I think back to the day if the engagement saying to myself ' this will end in tears' because this was a woman who had not grown up here and therefore no idea of how our press treats folk. And that turned out to be true. And not reading said press I had no real understanding of the mixed race story. Our family are mixed race. It comes over a bit self indulgent with no clear focus -:what is the story, what change is the focus?

Ended the day by opening the wine box, a cheese sandwich and realising that putting the choc advent calendar in top of the TV box does not end well. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.