Windmill 'De Pere', Oost-Souburg

'De Pere' -- this was the surname of the very first owner of this mill.
'Oost' = 'OHWst' = 'east'
'Souburg' = French pronunciation! >> 'Soo-burg'

This beautiful mill is almost 300 years old.  It was built in 1725 and is still working perfectly, of course thanks to a number of renovations.  This is the website, in Dutch.   https://www.molendatabase.nl/nederland/molen.php?nummer=900
Scroll down this website and you'll see a video of the mill in operation.  There must have been a strong wind on the day the video recording was made.  You'll see the vanes turning very fast, and part of the video also shows grain being ground and flour pouring into a sack.

A fabulous day to go hunting!  Freezing temperatures but not a cloud in the sky.  I suppose the cloudless sky was the reason for the cold.  No matter, the sun was out.  The things is, I left in the afternoon and had to catch the light before sunset.  Managed to do that in the nick of time.

Before and after the hunt, I was... working!  Up to late at night, I pored over the 1st-year assignments.  After that, I reviewed the PowerPoint for tomorrow's lecture.  It had already been prepared by Toons and posted on TEAMS, but it was now my job to remind the students of mistakes they had to watch out for but also tips that could improve their work.  Only after I had rounded that off did I go to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.