Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Downy

Another bird that is abundant in our garden this winter - the Downy Woodpecker (female seen here).  Although they are always around and not at all shy of humans, they aren't all that easy to photograph.  In part because they tend to be twitchy but more because the contrast is challenging to manage.  They need a cloudy day to prevent a disaster on the whites but even then...more misses than hits, at least for me.  Happy with this one as the whites aren't blown and there is feather detail in the face.  I also like the splayed tail which is a sign that she was annoyed by the presence of two other woodpeckers nearby.

I am still adjusting to my new lens set up.  I know it's only been a few days but I do wish I didn't have this constant sense of blurriness from the left eye (which is now adjusted for reading).  On the other hand, it is wonderful to be able to read something without reaching for a pair of cheaters.  It may be that I need to switch the eye that is being corrected but I'll give it another week before I go down that road.  In that case, I'd wear a distance soft contact in the left eye and have a "reading" scleral lens made for my right eye.

I am going to mark this day also as the first day of Tamoxifen.  I've not been able to tolerate the aromatase inhibitor class of drugs (designed to reduce my chances of getting breast cancer again) so now my only option is Tamoxifen.  It also has side effects, but different ones and hopefully my body will tolerate it better.  My oncologist ordered a script for a month so I can see how I do.  Fingers crossed!

Another cold day, but at least no precipitation.  Which meant that Hubs and I took Jax for a nice walk on the Lane, followed by some play time in the back yard.  He's sound asleep in front of the fire now - and Hubs is sound asleep on the sofa.  My boys.

I've done further reading on the dark chocolate issue and feel that most of the brands I like are relatively fine.  So I am going to continue to have a square a day and today's choice is blood orange.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.