What Christmas looks like where I live. 

I spent time on Sunday evening wrapping and packing up some gifts to post to America.  Im very late as the last posting date was 10th December.  Bad mark to me.  I headed down to the village this afternoon to the post office to send them on their way.

Then I went to the greengrocers.  Had a nice chat with the chap in there.  I saw his Facebook post yesterday where he mentioned he had spent 12 hrs taking everything off the shelves in the shop, cleaning all the shelves and putting everything back.  He really takes pride in what he does and its an excellent little shop with good quality produce.  He's a Newcastle United fan so we talked about footie for a bit .

Then onwards to Herons and Tesco.  Both shops were busy - full of children from the local comprehensive school stocking up on sweets and chocolate.

I passed the St Oswald's Charity shop and decided to take a shot for the Mono Monday challenge.... the theme is to show what Christmas looks like where you live.  This particular charity shop always has a lovely Christmas window which they enter into the Christmas Window Competition organised by the local Rotary Club. I love seeing all the festive shop windows around at the moment.  Thanks to Carolina for hosting.

Another idea I had for my blip was my new doormat which arrived today but it looks much better in colour so I've added it as an Extra.  I know a lot of folk like to go away for Christmas but for me " There's No Place Like Home" - as said by my namesake Dorothy in the 1939 classic film “The Wizard of Oz".

Just as I reached home an Evri driver turned up with a parcel for me so that was fortunate timing.  He said it was his last delivery of the day. He had already delivered 116 parcels. 

Rachael and Luna drove/got the ferry to Ireland  on Saturday but Neil was working over the weekend - and this morning - so he's travelled this evening to join them.  His flight landed around 10pm and he was getting the shuttle bus to where his in laws live.  Glad he has a few days off so he could go over and join them.

Weather was much warmer today but very windy. We had rain overnight. All the snow and ice have gone  so I'm very pleased to be able to walk around outdoors safely now. 

Steps today - 9,239

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.