-21 C/ -4 F

Extreme cold warning
Risk of frostbite, drifting snow
Winter brings challenge

~carliewired

My daughter and I were out on the driveway at 8:30 with our shovels. She had appointments this morning so we were out there in -22 C with light snow falling. I went back to my recliner to finish my coffee and wait for the clearing we were promised. 

Just before 2 PM I ventured out in my old pickup truck. The sky was bright but the temperature was still 'arctic'. The roads had been plowed but were shining like glass, especially at intersections. The 'low traction' light on my dashboard kept popping on and off. I was going to make my photo jaunt very quick again today. 

I stopped at the grocery store briefly, then drove on to Vantage Point near the airport. I stepped out into the icy blast out of the west. The snow was drifting by my feet much like sand is blown across the desert. I got a photo of my mountains in the east. I walked out to the edge of the river where I could look over the frozen float plane dock. I did all in haste, then tucked my camera inside my jacket and turned back to my truck.  I found a doggy mitt on the ground. Someone's canine is missing a paw cover today. 

I took the quiet route home along the hillside. I was thankful to see some sand had been applied to the hilly roads near my house. I tippy-toed my truck safely home in low gear. 

I'm gratefully indoors and will remain so. This deep freeze we're in could last another two days. 

We have a low overnight projected of -27 C. with the prospect of a sunny day tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.