Christmas at the Mall

Snowmen, santas and
wooden soldiers with polar
bears - sitting on 'snow'

~carliewired

I was up at 7 making my pot of coffee. By 8:30, my daughter and I had the driveway cleared one more time. It had warmed up overnight and it felt balmy at -19 C after the bitter cold day yesterday. 

It is a Christmas of calamity. Some major highways and bridges are closed today after a serious snow storm rolled over the province. Ferries and airlines have cancellations. Travelers are stuck in airports.  It is not a good time to be travelling. I will stay put for now. 

I had to venture out to the mall this morning. Traffic is heavy and the roads are not in the greatest shape. I did some photography inside the mall. I was a little amused by the mix of seasonal characters cobbled together on display. They were all corralled inside a white picket fence with polyester snow on the ground. No doubt little children would enjoy a look over the fence. 

Most touching was the Christmas tree made by Moms Stop The Harm. The photos of so many young people who've suffered/died from drug abuse was very thought-provoking. A Christmas tree dedicated to so many lost family members was so beautiful and yet tragic. 

I made my trip short and was happy to be home again. Time for a nap. 

We can look forward to a high of - 14 C today with cloud and a chance of some snow flurries. What a relief to have the arctic temperatures moderate overnight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.