Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Red for the Holiday

Hard to pass up a lovely red bird perched on a curving branch of our cherry tree...Happy Christmas from our home to yours!

One of my favorite sayings is "man plans and God laughs".  Which sums up this Christmas very well for us.

We planned to go into NYC today and have lunch with friends at a wonderful steak place.  Christmas Eve lunch with Kura has been kind of a long standing tradition for us.  And tomorrow SIL was going to come over for a nice family dinner with us.  Notice how I am using past tense?  Hubs was snoozing on the sofa with Jax when I came down this morning, so I offered to run the Boy over to daycare, thus freeing up our day for festive times in the Big City.  When I got home, I noticed that Hubs really wasn't looking very good and when I began grilling him, it became apparent that he really wasn't feeling at all well.  So I called Kura and bail on lunch and got Hubs up to bed (after a negative Covid test.). 

Fast forward several hours, he came downstairs briefly, feverish and clammy and not looking at all well.  So we cancelled SIL coming over tomorrow too.  He is back in bed now and I've run to the market and picked up some chicken soup.  Based on the fever I am certain he either has Covid or Flu.  We'll test again later although I'm not really sure what we can other than keep him comfortable.  

I am still feeling fine, thank goodness.  Someone has to keep eyes on the Little Shit (Jax).  Last night while I was having zoom cocktails with my besties, he chewed a hole in our new dining room rug...  Usually a day at day care would settle him down but since the temperature never got about 12 F today, he won't have been outside to play so he will likely be a terror when I bring him home.  I see a big glass of wine in my future tonight...

Off to check on Hubs now. And perhaps a bit of dark with nuts.

xo
Debbi

PS. Photo conditions were perfect when I was outside to take this - it required nothing other than a crop.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.