Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

It's amaryllis season

Regular followers will know that I have several amaryllis plants and I keep them from  year to year. I did not expect any of the old ones to be in flower by now,  but two are showing off magnificent blooms and a third will open soon. The new one, courtesy of Tesco, is on to the second set of flowers. 

It's all a bit exotic for Humshaugh, but I do love them. Please view on black.

I washed and set Mum's hair today. It is very hard for her to stand at the handbasin and stay steady when her eyes are closed. I need to find some sort of frame that will hold her (or another person) to help next time. The job is a success.

This afternoon, Julie came over. We did the short circuit around the village. I made the mistake of saying we would be on tarmac all the way, when there is a damp/wet field crossing to make. Being a trouper, she did not complain at all.

We had a good chat and agreed about A Spy Among Friends. We think it is brilliant. I have seen all the episodes and Julie is on to the third.  I was completely hooked and needed to concentrate hard to make sure I missed nothing along the way.

It may well be my top recommendation of 2022! Damien Lewis deserves an Oscar or a Bafta or something for his acting.

We are working on the hourly eye drop regime. It is quite a challenge. Mum can't squeeze two sorts of droppers, which rather restricts when I can be away from home. We are thinking about it!

Thank you for the interesting comments about learning yesterday. I remembered today about the Khan Academy, a free learning online system where pupils are encouraged to persist and try things rather than just being told what to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.