Landmarks

A more selective collage, this time concentrating on some of the distinctive landmarks of Tain. I'll end up knowing more about Tain and the surroundings as my cousin from Perth and her husband, who feature in this blip (and the extras) by my sister, called in on their way north to visit their son who lives on Orkney, bringing me another book about the region from their local secondhand book store. They are overnighting in Dornoch, so here is a good place to stop for a cup of tea. It was lovely to see them.

In the morning, the weather was quite good, as can be seen from my blip. I popped back in to the gym and got my membership activated. They embedded the membership electronically into my National Entitlement Card, which is mainly for free bus travel, despite the fact it has "Edinburgh" emblazoned all over the front. I made a reasonably short visit to the gym, to use the elliptical for the first time in ages (felt good) and lift a few dumb bells. I'll try and go back tomorrow. So far I've gone for the pay as you go option, but with my over 60 reduction actually the monthly membership is ridiculously cheap so I might even upgrade at some point.

During the day, the cottage felt very cold. I knew that the weather was getting chillier again, but this was ridiculous. Eventually, the culprit emerged. We opened the kitchen window to ventilate after a rather smelly and steamy dinner I cooked yesterday and neither of us remembered to close the window. I only noticed it after my cousin had left. Whoops. Mind you, I checked the electricity meter again, and while we are burning through the £10 notes on a regular basis, it's slightly less cataclysmic than I thought it would be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.