Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

On the Creek

It's been an almost non-stop day! Glad I'm at the end of it now!

I set the alarm for 6:30 because my friend Diane asked if we could go for a walk. I had two personal admin-related things to do, so we agreed on 8-9. I even managed to rope G in. Long story short, my alarm didn't go off, so at 7:15, I was panicking. I got showered and dressed and ready to leave, then looked at my phone to find a message from Diane saying she couldn't make it!

G & I went ahead regardless and enjoyed a quiet hour with the place almost all to ourselves! We then got into the car and drove 25 km South to visit the nearest bank branch to hand in our Common Reporting Standards Forms. One of the first things the lady said was that we could have done this on mobile banking. Argh!

We then drove back into our precinct and tackled the rent contract. Despite the ominous start, we ended well and even managed to get a smile, chat and handshake from the new manager of the building. Here's looking forward to a better 2023 with this new agent!

Home for some lunch and a quick nap before heading back to the Creek, this time to meet with a Canadian family who come to the SA meetings when they can. G & C sat by the Creek watching the world go by while the rest of us did two water taxi rides, drank some fresh coconut water, and then walked to Skafos from the Grand Old Souk. The kids did very well.

We had a bite to eat at Skafos before saying our goodbyes and heading to Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard. Catherine hasn't seen it yet. It probably wasn't the best evening to do it as traffic was horrendous, but I'm glad we took the time.

Back home to a light dinner while watching Paddington 2 and going through the photographs taken today. Amazingly, we did a walk on the Creek on the same day last year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.