Saved

Like many Friday mornings, after breakfast I was away in the car to visit the farm shop. The fridge was almost empty - apart from cheese obviously - and elsewhere in the kitchen I was down to 2 potatoes, 2 onions and a banana. 

It was wet out there, but nothing worrying, and this area was outside the yellow weather warning. 

All was well - but definitely very wet - until I left the Dundee road at Freuchie to head for Falkland. That road was flooded just outside Freuchie. The water was pouring off the fields onto the road wherever it could find a way. 

I managed to get Falkland by taking a long diversion through Auchtermuchty, but the road from the village to the farm shop was flooded too. 

I went back the way I came, thinking I could try the road from Strathmiglo to Falkland. No, between Auchtermuchty and Strathmiglo the road was blocked by a vehicle stuck in floodwater and a farmer trying to tow it out. 

I had to face up to reality. Plans A, B and C had failed. I had no others. I drove home.  

Lunch was some of that festive cheese. Fortunately I had some Indian cottage pie in the freezer, and was able to use the 2 remaining potatoes to make dinner. 

As Blipped... 

Yes, I could have gone to one of the supermarkets on my way home, or later on today, but my experience had left me a bit... drained and on edge. I can do that tomorrow.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.