Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

An audience with Rick Kemp

Rick Kemp, now in his 82nd year and not in good health, entertained an enthusiastic audience at Twice Brewed on Hadrian's Wall tonight.

He has been ill and made a great effort to be there. Both his guitars objected to moving from his cold kitchen to the hot restaurant of the pub. Despite all that, he was brilliant.

Not only did he play and sing, but he also told tales from his life as a musician. I loved one about Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart, just getting together at the time, when Rick and Maddy Prior were living in London. Rick was sanding down the front door ready for painting.

Annie and Dave had heard music coming from the basement and asked if they could rehearse there. Maddy said a firm NO. They did work briefly with Rick, recording with him, until they were quickly famous and their record label put a stop to any "outside" activities!

(Dave Stewart went to my school - he's a year younger than me - but he was expelled, along with a friend who went on to be a doctor.)

I came home in the interval, just before 10pm.

Earlier in the day, I had lunch at the Milecastle Inn with Al and Ann, Jean and Brian, Eric and Kay and Julie. We have a lovely time. It was a belated birthday lunch for me and I received lovely presents too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.