Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The Big Garden Birdwatch

This weekend it was the RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch. You had to select an hour on any of the three days and during that time count the largest group of birds that are present in your garden during the time. After breakfast I sat inside the study looking out to start recording what I could see in my garden. I had all the usual birds present, including some ring-necked parakeets as seen here.

I saw 5 woodpigeons, 4 Blue tits, 1 blackbird, 2 Ring-necked parakeets, 2 robins, 1 chaffinch, 3 crows, 1 nuthatch, 1 coal tit, 1 Great tit, 1 sparrow, and 1 magpie. I never see goldfinch which I know are common in other gardens, and I usually see many magpies and parakeets. 

Ring-necked parakeets are not indigenous to the UK. They were brought to the country as pets and escaped into the wild, and since the 1990's have been seen in London and the south east in significant numbers. They are very noisy and therefore not always welcomed into gardens. This parakeet was photographed through a double glazed window so not the best image but it works okay.

After that we went for a walk with Xena, going via our local coffee shop when we had a delicious cappuccino. 

We went to our local pub for Sunday lunch - its a very gastropub and the food is always good there. Plus we can walk from the house as it is nearby.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.