Capital adventures

By marchmont

Close up and personal

As predicted there were a lot of fireworks after midnight but I couldn't see any of them.

Once it was proper morning Olivia and I had an appointment with Oon, the family hairdresser,  in USJ so off in a Grab we went.  I had a cut and colour.  Though J had given me the colour it is a lot darker than normal.  The Olivia had a trim and an undercut.

Oon is #2 aunt.  Through the wall is #3 aunt so went there for lunch.  Angie, from Singapore (#11) and the aunt who works in Johor Bahru (#8?) were there too.  Lunch was very good, mee, rice, pok fish, home grown spicy green beans and lotus root soup.  We also had guava and pomelo. As well as the aunts #3 aunt's husband was there (very silent) and their family including 2 year old Leroy.  And we also saw #2 aunt's husband, Uncle David.  A real family catch up. 

Then off to Sunway Pyramid with 3 aunts.  I don't think they were going for anything in particular because that's what you do - go to the Mall.  I wanted Bodyshop face wash.  It was RM65 which I thought was very expensive but when I checked later it was less than £3 dearer than at home.  I also bought stuff in Lush, but not for me- a real impulse buy.

Weirdly we bumped into #1 son and his friend Jasmine.  He was on the hunt for trainers.  After lokal coffee and kueh and the arrival of #2 aunt and her daughter/daughter in law we went off to find #1 for a lift home via Summerfields to pick up Mei Mei.

I hadn't come from that direction before and didn't realise it is almost right beside the new buildings and cranes  we an see from the balcony.  Damansara Heights. We had time to kill so had a drink at the French cafe beside what will be the Michelin listed French dessert shop with a Thai twist.  This is an upscale area of KL. 

Came home via the office to drop off some beer for Wen Hui then home to spag bol.  #1 hasn't slept well last night so went to bed for a rest.  I spoke to J and got the kids to bed then did some work, including a long call to S who is having a rough time back at base. 

I also moved us forward on making up for a weekend we missed in March 2020, our trip to the jungle.  The deposit I paid is still valid so looks like we are going to Sekeping Serendah for one night on Sunday.

Sat and talked to #1 for a bit before I was off to bed.  Wen Hui  wasn't home from her work event.  She leads such a busy life. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.