Snowdrops...and County Hall

I spent today at County Hall doing some work linked to my new job. At 11.30 I met Jon who had come in for a couple of meetings. He bought me coffee in the Mardle. Then I went back to work until lunch time.

I took a walk down Martineau Lane, where there is a caravan club campsite. I was hoping to have a peek at it, but there is a big gate, and it was closed. It was a circular walk though, and as I almost reached County Hall I saw hundreds of snowdrops nestled within a small wooded area. I went in to have a look at them, and took this picture, with County Hall in the background.

Worked until 4.30 then drove to Riverside and had a wander round a few shops. Nothing to buy, but as I don't get out to shops very often, I took the opportunity. Then home, arriving at 6.45. Jon's car was still in the drive, so immediately I was concerned. He should be at scouts. When I got in, he said he had hurt his shoulder and wasn't going to scouts. 'How' I said....already sensing that I knew the answer. Which was that on his ride home, he came off his bike when an ambulance with its blue lights on, heading to an emergency, came too close, and forced him into the muddy verge. He was pulling over as far as he could, and had slowed right down, but his wheels ended up in the mud and with no traction he knew he was going over. Luckily, there was a paramedic in a following vehicle who stopped. He had seen what had happened and helped Jon get his bike up, and as Jon was immediately suffering with his right shoulder, the paramedic checked him over. Then 2 hours of going over paperwork and details for insurance. Although his bike is fine, and he managed to ride home, his shoulder is now causing him a lot of pain. So we will see how he is tomorrow and decide if he needs to go to the dr. Big sigh.

There is always something for me to worry about!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.