LANCASTER PRIORY

We had an adventure today.  For the first time since before the pandemic Hubby and I caught a train to Lancaster, and both there and back they were on time - yeah!!!!

When the trains run properly it is by far the best way for us to go to Lancaster as parking there can not only be expensive but a nightmare to find.  

Such a grey day though but as part of my churches theme I wanted to visit Lancaster Priory as I have never actually been before.

On arrival in Lancaster we went straight to Lancaster Castle, which used to be prison until fairly recently (my brother was a Prison Officer there).  

I haven't been since they gave the courtyard a makeover and it looks so much better.  We just went into the cafe there, called Atkinsons.  Delicious coffee and cake to fortify us.  Then we went round the corner into the church (collages to follow, probably tomorrow).

Lancaster Priory
The Priory and Parish Church of St Mary, Lancaster, as it is officially known, is mostly a 15th-century building, though it contains several pre-Conquest reminders of an earlier building, including a Saxon doorway and fragments of Saxon crosses.
HISTORY
The church stands on a prominent rise above the River Lune, beside Lancaster Castle. The site has been used since at least Roman times, and traces of Roman fortifications can still be seen in the field north of the church. You can see the Roman remains by following the footpath which leads from the Priory down towards St. George's Quay.
There was a Saxon church on the site as early as AD 630. The most obvious reminder of the Saxon building is the doorway at the west end of the church. In the north aisle are several sculptured stones of the same period including fragments of carved crosses.
Lancaster Priory is very beautiful inside and so lovely and warm.  There was a lady sweeping up and she very kindly went round and switched some lights on for me so I could get better photographs. I didn't ask her to she just saw the camera and went and did that.  That was so kind.
They also have a beautiful Regimental section to the church, these of the windows of that section.  
After that we walked on down to the Millennium Bridge over the River Lune.  I've passed it in the car so many times but never actually been on it before.  So I took some photographs, walked along part of it and then on down the Quayside.  Some of which has now been restored and looks good, some still a bit down a heel, but interesting history nonetheless.
We then walked on down to the Millennium Bridge, over the River Lune because although I have passed it hundreds of times I've never actually been on it before.  I took some photos, stepped onto the bridge and then walked along the Quayside.  Some of this has fairly recently been done up with new flats etc, some are still a bit down at heel but all in all the area is looking reasonably good.  
I did try to find the Three Mariners pub, the oldest pub in Lancaster apparetly but no success.  Having checked  since we were extremely close to it when we were on the bridge!!!  Ahh well never mind.
Then back up to the Priory and Castle (phew for me that was quite steep).  My back held out though so that was good.  We went back into Atkinsons for lunch - just a delicious toasted sandwich - a really lovely one before going back to the station and home.
A really lovely day out.

That's all from me for today  do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.