Posing on a post

I walked round the garden taking macro shots to play with for Abstract Thursday. I found plenty of details to photograph, including the tight zigzags of just opening rhubarb leaves, but after playing with several of them I still wasn't terribly pleased with any of the results, so I was pleased Millie had posed on a fence post with the yarrow seed heads. 

Thursday is normally my movie night with J. This week we watched another good programme of short animations, live streamed by the Cardiff Animation Festival team, another episode of Call the Midwife, and a 1961 30 minute film called Terminus, directed by John Schlesinger who went on to direct many well known films including A Kind of Loving, Far from the Madding Crowd and Midnight Cowboy. It's a portrait of a day at Waterloo station, brilliantly shot and edited in black and white, and I enjoyed it very much. It's available on BFI player, where it's part of the extensive collection of free to view archive film, and is also on YouTube (though I'm not sure the image quality is quite as good).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.