Goosander (in Extras)

There was a pair playing by the pontoon. The female suddenly dived, swam under it and out onto the river. Took the male a minute to work it out but he followed and off they went downstream. It was a choice of goldfinches, a wren or the goosander today. The small birds didn't stay still long enough so here we are with another duck.

The extra I took at 07:00 this morning. Lovely to see the light. I don't know if it was the Saharan wind carrying dust that made things look pinker than they might ordinarily.

I'm having the quietest day of the week with just a couple of zoom catch ups, some admin tasks, cooking and wind down yoga. I had a lovely Monday evening with my friends but I didn't sleep well.

Thanks for all the concern for my grandson. He seemed right as rain yesterday and told me about his trip to A&E. He's taken to inventing words. For my own amusement I'm recording yesterday's here: 'enstranging' - meaning puzzling, unexpected or unusual. You can see how he got there. It's probably one of those words that'll become part of the family lexicon like hippohopatus, smaniches, helihopter etc.

Edit: I swapped the main and the extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.