Capital adventures

By marchmont

King of Fruits

I woke to a message from last night from S about things back at the coalface.  That triggered over two hours work as I sent emails and thought.

Today was an 'out' day.  First I had to wrestle with Digi.  It's taken me 2 months but I think I have finally learned how to manage prepay!  That required a walk to the nearest 7-11 and then back to the bus.  I could have stayed where I was as I took the 190 through Segambut Dalam, Segambut and Sentul to Chow Kit.  

Had a walk through Chow Kit and a look over the fence to Kampung Bharu, the kampung under the shadow of the skyscrapers a bit like what's happening at Mont Kiara. This included a quick look at the famous (infamous?) wet market.

Then I took the Monorail (first time) to Titiwangsa. I thought I could walk to the park.  It took me 15 minutes to work out how to cross the highway,  Google maps was playing up and it was hot.  When I checked later it was a good call.  Would have taken me over 20 minutes there and back, to see basically a pond. 

Then the Monorail back to Bukit Bintang.  Lunchtime, walked round to Jalan Alor and ate in the same place as before.  This time it was chilli prawns and petai.  They are very good for you according to the Ministry of Health.  There was also egg fried rice (too much) and a large bottle of Tiger (way too much). 

Jalan Alor was much busier than the last time I was there - well it wasn't raining.  A lot of Europeans, some obviously tourists.  I had thought of going to the Mall, any Mall, but it was too hot so I caught the MRT to Semantan and then, eventually, the feeder bus to Desa Sri Hartamas.  All in all the transport cost RM10, £1.90.  A big difference from RM30-40 in Grabs but it is much slower. 

I was back in time for a swim with Olivia. #1 had been putting IKEA furniture together and then had the robot out on the lounge area so the space was barricaded.  The he mopped.  Wen Hui was back before 7 and made food which we watched 'TV dinner style' watching more QI.  The dining table is covered in stuff!

Just after 8 I checked my Twitter feed and wow a tweet from John Swinney, Nicola has resigned.  I haven't seen the speech but read some of the comments and watched Janey Godley's voiceover.  Whatever you think of her she will be missed, for a while.  Maybe a trip to NZ to say 'hi' to Jacinda?

In other news my mug has been mended and the extra always cracks me up.  The main blip, of course, is durian, the king of fruits. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.