A Bit Outside ...

...My Reading Box...

I have never really been a fantasy fan and on my own, probably would not have selected this book. It was one of the recommended books presented by the librarians at our friend Sandy's local library; they have a "Tea and Books" session every second month and we three of our book club try to attend to get ideas. And from that session, one of us who is a fan of fantasy suggested we try it..So, The Change  became required reading for me and quel surpris, I really liked it!  

It is a "fantasy crime mystery" with three post-menopausal women who have super powers and attempt to solve a string of murders in their community. Surprisingly, I found myself "willingly suspending my disbelief" (!) and was so caught up in the story, I finished it quickly... today.. way ahead of schedule! There is some spicy language, themes that include sexism and ageism, and oh yes, more than a touch of vigilantism... lots to entertain and sometimes amuse. 

Tonight was Pen and Ink class night at our local gallery. I have taken classes in it before and had actually decided it wasn't my thing..but then I thought perhaps I should revisit it to see if it might work for my travel journals? .. to quickly capture a scene on site and then add just a touch of watercolour later at the end of the day? Sounded promising. 

I do think it is helping..I am feeling more comfortable with quickly getting the sketch down, adding some ink shading and then a quick dab of watercolour...Working that fast is a challenge..and I know that I will take a little more time en plein air on my trips to have an image that I am happy with...In class, my goal is to do it quickly, knowing that it is not a keeper..it is just practice..and I keep saying that to myself to make myself feel better about what I take home! (extra removed)

Two challenges next weekend - another pen and ink class AND an afternoon workshop in watercolour - with two very different styles of painting, but one thing in common - it must be done quickly and loosely!  Soon I shall be known as a fast and loose woman...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.