67 F

Exasperated!
That's how I felt about my 
task to repair this!

~carliewired

I've needed to repair my umbrella clothesline since the day I arrived in January. I made an attempt a couple of weeks ago, but the line I purchased could not be fed through the holes in the frame. So, I ordered a thinner line (1/8") and had to wait on its arrival and on a day suitable to the task. 

The frame itself is rather large (bigger than the span of my arms). It reminded me very much of the television antennae of my childhood days. I remember my Dad having to adjust it from time to time and I have gained a whole new appreciation for that now. 

I needed to work on it out in my screened porch. That required a calm, warm day for me to be out there. (No chill or dust blowing around) Today was that day! 

I wrestled the frame out into the porch and stretched it open. I had to improvise a 'needle' using a thin piece of wire inserted into the end of the cord. I threaded the cord through the holes in the frame and stretched the cord as needed. It took far more time than I had imagined it would. I had to bribe myself with take-out fish and chips to get this finished today. 

At 2:30 I was at Mr. Fish placing my order and home again by 3. 

I have yet to test my workmanship. That will be coming up soon. I don't know how much stretch there is in the line or how much weight it is supposed to hold. I do hope I am done with this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.