Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Goodbye to Stornoway

This is a back blip. I was too, too tired to download files after I returned home.

I had most of the day to be in Stornoway, so I set off with my camera and interspersed my photographic activity with coffee stops. It was a glorious sunny day, just when we were leaving. Never mind, we did have some good weather.

I caught sight of these chimney pots and liked them. The gull enjoyed photobombing the picture.

John and Helena left at 10am to go to the airport. They were very early for their flight and their wait was lengthened by another 3 hours. They were just nicely away when I arrived for my plane.

I expect to be called to explain my tripod because the head looks like a gun. This did not happen, but I was held up in security. Both cameras had to be out of the camera bag. That's new to me. Then the bag itself became an object of interest. I had forgotten to put the screwdriver in my hold luggage.

Oh dear. One security guard was nice but the other was a bit shirty. I suggested that one of them might like to have the screwdriver. It was in very good shape. I was told in no uncertain terms that losing their jobs over a screwdriver was not worth it. I get it!

Our flight was short and I was soon at Glasgow Central (the airport bus service is excellent) and caught an earlier train than I expected. There was a good connection to Hexham too and Liz collected me at 9pm. 

John made it home last night, but Helena had an extra night in a hotel and flew to Zurich this morning.

My extra is Becky, who lives with her partner, Evans, on their boat, the Wayfarer. I met her last week and then again today. She was on her boat and I was above on the harbour. We had a grand old chat and I've promised to send her some images from the trip.

The forecast for next week's workshop is very good and I hope they have as good a time as we did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.