Capital adventures

By marchmont

Hello Willow

My day started as we landed in Doha just before midnight, though it was still 9 p.m. at home.  As usual there was a long taxi in to the gate so it was about 12.25 before I disembarked after not a very comfortable flight.  The seats on Malaysian Airways are so uncomfortable, I stood or walked a lot of the time, the food is uninspiring and oddly they cam out cans of Carlsberg with the welcoming cup of water but I did watch a couple of movies, though again the selection is not as expansive as Qatar.

But back to Doha.  An hour to get from a B gate to and through security and then out to an A gate.  I made it as they were calling for last passengers, though of course I was no way last.  When I boarded the greeting from a designated member of cabin crew made me realise I'd gone back up to silver.  The email had arrived as I was travelling but I couldn't read it till I got home.  An extra 15 kg of luggage - whoo hoo!

Flight 2 was much better.  Slept a bit and watched a French movie. We landed early at 5.30 a.m, (4 deg outside, a change from the 31 deg I left) and then waited for a stand for 30 minutes but no queues and the bag did make it. EDI needs to something about international arrivals though - so many steps.  M&S Food and home by 7 a.m.

Spent the day sorting stuff out, finding stuff that my housesitters had put away, saying hello to Willow, wrestling with my phone and the wi-fi and a trip to Sainsbury's.  First I had to get Y to come and release the handbrake.  the car had been parked nose up on the drive and the handbrake full on.  Sainsbury's had empty shelves and the self check-ins have grown.

I kept going till 5 and then that was it, bed, my bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.