Capital adventures

By marchmont

Last selfie - for now

A very mixed day, with very mixed emotions.  I was up before 8 to say good bye to Amelia as she went to school.  And to say goodbye to Wen who after last night's late night (and rugby disappointment) was having a 'long lie'.  Hugs and kisses, and teary eyes.

Then I did some almost final packing and weighing of bags.  I've returned to the 2 bag option. Then to the pool.  Had to do a bit of persuasion with Olivia but once we got there she was fine.  Of course being Monday the big pool was out of use (cleaner) till 11.30 but Olivia was happy with the small pool.  It started to cloud over and we had some time in the spa garden and then back in the big pool until time for lunch.

It was an odd afternoon.  Olivia was doing stuff in her room, #1 was in bis room and I sat and sewed for a bit - looking at the sun and the pool returning blue.  #1 had decided to collect Amelia early is she could have a proper good-bye and #2 confirmed he'd be round before I left.

Then panic struck.  Shower, change, last things I  case, weigh.  Aagh, over by about 1-2 kilos.  So had to go back to a one bag and carry on option.  It was not a very organised moving of things from one case to the other - more a rapid scrabble, combined with me mislaying the padlock and then later one of the mini bags form my handbag.  Of course it had been scooped up and dumped under the main case - passport and all!  By the time #2 arrived and the selfie was taken I was stressed, panicked and very red and sweaty from all the exertion. And it was not helped by #1 and 2 both saying that my case was heavier than I said.  Luckily it turned out to be 29.1 kg.  The final blow to my credentials as an organised person that I got to the Grab and realised the water bottle was left on the credenza.  Luckily #1 retrieved.  And that was me, finally off at 5.15 p.m, and into the rush hour traffic.

At KLIA there was no queue at check-in, perhaps arriving 2 not 3  hours  in advance is a benefit. But there was a long, long queue at immigration.  Then  I got pulled out of the long queue with the guy behind me and taken to a no queue.  They were also pulling out families with children and the only reason I could think of was, it was an age thing, old not young!

I made it to the Sports Bar, where it proved impossible to upload this blip, and misguidedly ordered a pizza along with the red wine.  It finally arrived on the cusp of me having to leave. 

Then another queue jump incident.  Pulled out of the screening queue at the gate and moved to a non-queue, as I am female.  Very Malaysian.  And of course boarding was delayed slightly but we did take off on time.  9.10 p.m..  Homeward bound.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.