100 years of the Archies

The Archibald is Australia’s most renowned portrait prize. We are lucky to have an exhibition here in Bathurst with works selected to show the change in society and types of portraits over 100 years. 

I went in this morning to have a look and was surprised to see so many familiar paintings. I have converted my main into a mono but the original is very soft and muted so it isn’t that much different from the real deal. It was really a beautiful piece which would look lovely in your home ( if you had enough room). Some others were of TV characters, self portraits, politicians etc. A great show and only 350metres away. 

The main is Penelope Seidler painted by Fiona Lowry and won the Archibald in 2014

I did a few trips to the car yard with Nina as she was getting her car serviced. As she lives out of town I lent her our car so she could go home for the day. It’s been hot and I’ve spent a lot of the day indoors with the cooler on.

Today is a special day for Mono Monday remembering Paladian who started the challenge shortly before I started blipping. I’m one of the lucky blippers to have met Paladian (and Rower2012) and thank her for her initiative. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.