Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The mystery at The George Hotel

Where was the snowman?!

Julie, who comes to care for Mum, had been at The George at 0630, building a cheerful snowman (with daffs in his hair and sporting a water float). She teaches Aquafit in the pool.

She brought a photo to show us.

When I went out later, I started at the hotel and walked through the garden to see the snowman. The heavy snow overnight was already melting, so I did not want to delay.

There was no sign of him in the garden.

I tried around the back of the hotel.

No snowman but I did find this invader in flower (more later).

I sent a WhatsApp message. Julie told me that I needed to walk along an inside corridor. That worked. The snowman was in a tiny courtyard, but accessed only from the pool. No joy with a photo (and he was already leaning backwards in the sun.)

Now to the mystery plant. I was puzzled because it looks like butterbur but is much bigger. It turns out to be the Japanese butterbur. It's in the coltsfoot family; I'm always looking for them in March.

I'd noticed how invasive it is. It grows gigantic leaves. The stems, "fuki" are edible.

So now you know.

I visited Jenny and Dennis and Kate and admired Jenny's new electric chair.

Lesley C came to visit this afternoon. We had a good chat and she brought one of her prints for Mum to see.

We are promised a heavy frost and icy paths tomorrow, possibly more snow too, but we have been very lightly affected in comparison to other places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.