81 F

It's an at-home day,
so I took a wee tour of
the estate - LAZY!

~carliewired

I woke up just after 6 and thought that was ridiculous. I went back to bed and woke up after 9 with no intentions of getting dressed or going anywhere today. 

On the way to the washing machine, I took a look around the 'estate' with my camera in hand. There's always something to see.

At the front gate I noticed some colour on the prickly pear cactus. It has always bloomed mid March and usually just as we were leaving for home. In spite of the unusually 'cold' winter here, it seems right on schedule. 

I looked over the fence by the gate and spied my neighbour's African tortoise grazing in the front yard. My neighbour explained that he got this tortoise many years ago from a very elderly couple who felt they could not take care of it any more. It seems mad to grow a lawn in Arizona, but the neighbour has this patch of grass just for the tortoise who loves to eat it. This is the first time this winter that I've seen the tortoise out on the lawn. I think it's been too cold for him, too! 

The lantana is blooming in abundance, no doubt thanks to the rains we've had. 

I might venture out for some groceries around dinner time. Other than that, I'm in for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.