63 F

Driving...one of my 
least favourite ways to spend
my time any day

~carliewired

I heard the garbage truck make its first stop outside my house before 6 to collect the first of my two bins. I reasoned I could get a few more winks so I rolled over and slept until its return about 7:30.  I had the trunk packed and numerous other jobs checked off the list before 9. I noted that it was fortunate no one else was travelling with me as there was no room for their belongings. 

 I locked the gates, topped the tank and was on my way north on Hwy 95. It was a beautiful morning. I released a quilted heart beside the little church, then got down to some serious driving. (yesterday's quilted heart was left on a tree beside my grocery store in Yuma)

The roadsides along Hwy 95 were covered in flowers. There was yellow brittlebush, magenta verbena and a flower with a purple stalk that I did not recognize. All were the products of the wet weather we've been having.

I made a rest stop at the first available in Nevada. It was clouding up and there was a definite wind to contend with. Further down the same highway I saw a dust devil off in the distance. Then some thunder showers washed the Arizona dust off my windshield. 

I arrived in Henderson, Nevada in sunshine. I checked into the motel I'd booked and found a restaurant for dinner just a block away. 

I hope to be up early and on my way further north again tomorrow.

P.S. Had a chat with my neighbour G just as I was about to drive away. He thanked me for the veggies I left for his tortoise. G tells me that the tortoise is called Scout. G has made a house for him in the yard with heating in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Scout apparently loves romaine lettuce so G buys it for him. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.