If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Great Tit ( Parus major )

I am getting rather lazy with regard to finding or thinking about blips.  More and more I am falling back on the "just in case" shots I take.

So today's blip is a female (probably) Great Tit in the garden.  I say probably as I am judging by the black stripe in the breast.  Males have a very prominent stripe, the more dominant the bird the bigger and clearer the stripe.  So this is either male of extremely low standing  (which going by the behaviour it wasn't) or a female.

Great Tit rung as far away as Lithuania have been recovered in the UK.  These recoveries as you might expect have been mainly in Spring and Autumn.  They are mainly birds of deciduous woodland but are very common in villages.  In the UK they are very widespread 90% of all 10Km squares are occupied. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.