Miss Traill’s House

I have volunteered to help out out this National Trust House in Bathurst. I went along today to meet other volunteers and see what there is to do. The house was built in 1845, about the time my ancestors arrived here. The Anglican rector arrived to the newly established town and he acquired a parcel of land on the outskirts of town ( now centre of town) where he built his home. A few changes of owners made alterations and additions. In 1932 Mrs Gertrude Trail and her unmarried daughter, Ida, purchased the property and they lived there until their passing.

Ida’s 2 grandfathers were the first settlers over the Blue Mountains and were allocated large grants of land. They prospered in making money and having excellent stock (including racehorses - The Barb) but didn’t have any descendants other than Ida who inherited from both families.  Before her death she worked with the National Trust to work out what she would like happen to her property and possessions. The house has all her things with the addition of one or two small items that were the Rectors. Time travel! 

Anyway I’m going to help with the gardening to start. They meet on Tuesdays and Fridays and you go when you can. There were 10 others there today and I have never felt so welcome at a group where I don’t know anyone. The ages range from my age up to one chap who was having his 86th birthday today. He wanted to know what jobs they were going to give him when he turns 90. 

The only picture I took today, while I was being shown around the property, was in the rain. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.