54 F/12 C

It was a long day
behind the wheel - let's not do
this again too soon!

~carliewired

There was not much on offer for breakfast at my motel this morning. I helped myself to a cup of coffee and then drove down the street to America's favourite diner for a real breakfast and another cup of coffee.
I filled the gas tank and started on my way home on Highway 97.

My first stop on Hwy 97 was at Beebe Bridge Park, Chelan Falls, Washington. I could get a shot of the Beebe Bridge I was about to cross over the Columbia River. This current steel bridge replaced the original in 1963. I noted it was getting a little rusty when I drove its length.

The Columbia River itself has played a huge role in the development of this area. Originally, it was the 'highway' for the fur trade. Its close proximity to the Pacific Ocean connected Asian and European markets. The Columbia River, which originates in Canada, is the most heavily dammed river system in the world. There are more than 450 dams in the Columbia basin, with most built to produce hydroelectricity. 

I stopped to get a quick look at the agricultural area near Tonasket, Washington. Most of the area around Hwy 97, on both sides of the border, is dedicated to fruit growing. Apples are an important crop in the state of Washington. 

I pulled up to the border crossing about 1 PM. I didn't have long to wait and there was just the one lane open today. 

I stopped along Hwy 97 at the overlook just before Penticton, British Columbia. I could look south towards the US and I could look north to Penticton. 

Closer to home I stopped along Monte Lake, one of my favourite stops for photos. I could see snow off in the distance on a mountain top. The lake itself still has some ice on its surface.

I rolled into Kamloops just before 6 PM. My last photo is the sun shining on my mountains as seen from my deck. My daughter had dinner ready for me and she unpacked my car, too. 

I will be happy to sleep in my own bed after 6 days on the road. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.