17 C /62 F

A slow start to my
day, then a wee jaunt to see
the most familiar

~carliewired

It was almost 9 when I woke up. I was slow getting out of the house, too. I treated myself to a breakfast sandwich and a large coffee at my favourite drive-thru. I drove to my most familiar location - McArthur Island. 

I was hoping I might find some wildlife so I parked by the foot bridge on the slough. The slough is very shallow with not much water. Lots of Canada geese and various ducks have come in. 

I spotted a silver-haired lady photographing the birds in the slough. I love to catch a photographer at work. I walked across the bridge, took some photos of this lady in action, then got a shot of my mountains looking across the slough. As I walked back across the bridge I met this lady on the bridge. I found out her name is Judy. She pointed out the wood ducks, which she had been photographing. We had a lovely chat about birds and discovered that we'd both been waiting on a new Toyota! 

I got a shot of the wood ducks myself. The drake is so dramatically coloured. They do not arrive as a flock like other birds. We might be lucky to see a pair at a time. 

I moved over to the south side of the island with some hope of finding marmots frolicking. I caught a deer along the fence near the playing fields. It quickly slipped through the fence and was gone. 

It is still chilly for March and there were no marmots to be seen. I suspect they think it's still winter. 

I looked over the river towards the downtown. I've never seen the river so low. There were so many people in the park this morning. Many were down on the river today. I left my quilted heart on a bench overlooking the river. 

It's going to be a quiet, lazy day for me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.