carliewired

By carliewired

55 F/ 13 C

There is a prospect
of warmer weather coming
for Easter weekend

~carliewired

I slept passed sunrise but was out on the deck catching my mountains with fog at their feet at 7:30. The fog hovered over the river channel on this chilly morning.

I was out the door, having to scrape the ice off my windshield before I could safely make my getaway to McArthur Island. 

I cast a glance to the Butterfly Garden as I drove into the park. It is not much more than green shoots at the moment. 

I parked near the foot bridge so I could have a look at the slough. The water looks very murky and is so low that it does not flow under the bridge. It looks like two muddy ponds on either side of the bridge. Somehow, the ducks make the best of it. They are swimming in pairs. 

I drove to the south side of the park beside the Thompson River. We'll have to wait for spring melt to raise the level of the river and the slough. 

There were Canada geese in the playing fields and along the river. I found one handsome specimen looking out over the river. He soon launched onto the beach below. 

I was pleased to find one marmot sunning itself on the rocks above the river. I wondered what it was finding to eat. These little characters go into hibernation in September when it still feels like summer. And here it is cold and frosty and this fellow is up and out of the burrow. I don't understand that at all. 

I'm in for the day now. I have lots of little jobs to keep me busy.....and a quilt to finish. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.