Toast

Like irons and ironing boards (see blip for 27th) the optimal number of toasters to own is one. Unless you really like toast, in which case two or more might be acceptable. But, in our house, two slices a day are all that is required so one toaster should be able to cope without difficulty.
However, we did have a toaster at our flat, which is now taking up space on the worktop in our kitchen at home.
It is newer, and has less crumbs in, than our “home” toaster, but it’s not quite as stylish - in my humble opinion. I’m also convinced that some of the heating elements in the home toaster have failed which could mean the whole thing is about to expire anyway.
The only way to settle it was - obviously - by way of a comparison test. One slice in each toaster and see which comes up quickest/brownest/most evenly toasted. That toaster would then stay and the other be disposed of.
Much like my iron/ironing board tests on Sunday, I’m sure you’re long past caring about the results by now but I can declare that the winner is………neither! As these things have dials to adjust the heat, I really ought to adjust each one to its optimum setting before I can make a fair comparison, so a few more days testing will be required before a definitive conclusion can be drawn.

I really need to get out more…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.