Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Outside the village shop

I called at the shop to buy a Journal for Julie (and later left it at home....)

This delightful young dog was incredibly cute if a bit noisy and he had to be my blip.

I saw Brad at the surgery. I think his title is nurse practitioner. He was very good in sorting out my asthma and ordering a different inhaler for me. Then he listened sympathetically about my hip (and knees). He asked a GP to speak to me later. She did and has referred me to the musculo skeletal service (now privatised). I can expect the first contact (probably a phone call) in 2 months time. The GP sadly did not sound at all interested. That is how it is!

Later in the day I drove to Newcastle where Julie provided a lovely early dinner. We went to the Baltic (Centre for Contemporary Art) for the opening of Chris Killip's retrospective exhibition of his photography.

I'd known about him for many years because of the work he did in Skinningrove in the early 1980s. I was a GP just up the coast in Skelton in Cleveland at the time. We did not have patients in Skinningrove but in nearby Brotton.  (See extra)

The exhibition contains his work from other places and periods. He was a brilliant photographer. See the Guardian review here.

The gallery was packed. A few photographers from the Documentary Group were there. I then spotted Ian MacDonald a photographic hero of mine and I had a good chat with him. 

I was very tired when I arrived home. Mum was nearly ready for bed and I was in mine and asleep soon afterwards. Hence the back blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.