ST ANDREWS SEDBERGH

A lovely day today.  The weather was lovely, ideal for me, sunny and cloudy with an odd raindrop here and there.

I decided G and I would go out as Hubby "needed" to be on his garden.  So we decided to go to Sedbergh, so I could photograph the church and G could visit Westward Books.  The radiio said that there were tailbacks southbound at the Sedbergh junctin (37) of the M6 due to an accidet which was impacting on the slip roads leading to the M6.  I therefore decided to go the longer route and went up the A590, A591 and onto Kirkby Lonsdale, turning left at Devil's Bridge and taking the A683 to Sedbergh.  A very pretty route and we only met about 2 cars so a great choice.

Sedbergh was quite busy, that is for Sedbergh, but still pleasant.  Sadly since I last visited, (late last year some time I think) the Three Hares Cafe is no more, it is now another florist (there is already a really good on in little Sedbergh.  It is so sad but they've decided not to re-open this year due to the rising costs of running it making it totally unviable.  Such a shame but totally understable.

This means that there is now only one cafe in Sedbergh plus 3 pubs.  I'm surprised as the Three Hares was always very busy.  There used to be 4 cafes, all gone now except Smatts Duo.

It was very busy in there and we were initially turned away but a kind gentleman said we will be going in a few minutes if you don't mind waiting, so we thought we may as well - very kind of him.  

After our coffee we went over to  St Andrews Parish Church (literally just across the road) - it always has such beautifully kept grounds.  We had a pleasant visit in there and apart from the cleaner were the only people in there.  I will do a collage at some point but I loved their main stain glass window, so beautiful, so that is my shot for the day.

After the church we went for a stroll along Main Street and then into Westward Books, an excellent second-hand book shop and then after about an hour went into The Black Bull for a light lunch.  I think the owers of the Black Bull used to be the ones that also owned The Three Hares, but am not too sure about that.

We then just came home after that, this time the shorter route via the M6 as we only have to go one junction.  It was busy but moving so that was OK and after all it is the Thursday before Easter, so to be expected.  Whilst on the M6 the radio said there were still tailbacks, well not where we were there wasn't, thank heavens.

That's it now I won't be going out again now until after Easter and then only very locally and avoiding the very busy Lakes.

That's all from me for today.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see you tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.