Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Iftar

(11/4/23)

The week got off to a good start. I would have done my usual routine, but the recycling got left behind! Thanks to shorter Ramadan hours, G just had an hour in school, so we called in at the Waitrose close to her on the way back, bumping into our friend Jane!

Back home, and the afternoon flew. Catching up on the news, a little nap, more work - there was time for everything. We went out again at Iftar. I saw that Wafi Gourmet had made a majlis serving Arabic coffee and dates at Iftar, so we tried that. The lady in my blip was happy to let me take a photograph of her.

Walking back to the car, I popped into the optician's where a lady fixed the frame of my spare pair of glasses. She had used glue which made the specs unusable. Thankfully, there was another person today who called her "boss". He said we could put the lenses from the old frame into a new one as an interim measure. Before I did anything drastic, he informed me of a promotion they are running during April on varifocal lenses. The upshot is that I can get my new specs right here instead of waiting until the summer.

We got home to the fuse box tripping again. Argh! It is not nice in the dark. This time, the problem showed itself when the maintenance man came. He got on the phone with his boss to convey how urgent and dire the situation is. Phew.

The box tripped twice after that, keeping me awake for much of the night. I couldn't help working through loads of stuff - mostly about how to coordinate the repairs (painting etc.) that the flat now needs. The bigger thoughts were about the day, when a reckless driver cut my Dad's life short. Twelve years on, and we still miss him so much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.