World Earth Day 2023

Earth Day

Over the last ten years or so, I've gradually become more and more active in the whole sustainability and reusablity aspect of environmentalism. I've reused my own coffee cups since 2014, as I could get 25p off my coffee at Starbucks. It gradually evolved over the years to the point where I use my own shopping bags as much as possible, I hang onto my rubbish when I can't find a bin, and I'll avoid buying or using single use items (plastic water bottles, cutlery and straws) where I can. We only have one planet, and I believe that we all need to do our bit to look after Mother Earth¹. Even if it's a small thing, like saying no to plastic straws or putting your rubbish in the nearest bin.

I know that some people will possibly think that calling Earth Mother is very New Age-ish, but the First Nation Peoples of the Americas, Asia, and Austroasia have great respect for the planet and their belief system is entwined with nature. I don't know anywhere near enough of what they believe in, but I believe that we should learn something from them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.