Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Lest we forget

I didn't go to the Anzac dawn service this year.  Apparently there were over 40,000 attendees although I wonder how they can estimate that figure.  I also missed the march because Maggy and I were visiting the hospital.  It's amazing visiting it on a public holiday.  It was so quiet and only skeleton staff on in the rehab ward.

All the patients were at or near their beds except for "the boys" who were out on the verandah doing some chin wagging. 

So this is really a carry on from last week when I blipped my maternal grandmother as a young woman.  Here she is married.   To her left is my aunt, my grandfather and then my mother.  My grandfather served in both WWI and WWII.  He was a mechanic and was hearing impaired so could never make it to the fronts much to his disgust.   He was based in PNG in WWII servicing planes.  I have forgotten which ones now.  Here he is in uniform and it would have been during WWII looking at the ages of my aunt and mum.

Thankyou to him and all our service men and women.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.