THE ASSEMBLY ROOMS

I decided to head for Newcastle today and have another go at spending my £25 Primark voucher. 

Before doing any shopping I got my blip shot.   The Wide Wednesday challenge today is " Old Building" so Ive blipped The Assembly Rooms. Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.

The Assembly Rooms in Newcastle were completed in 1776.. The building was funded by members of the nobility, gentry and prominent citizens, who raised £6,700 to establish a venue for 'elegant recreation' and entertaining prestigious visitors.  The building was requisitioned by the army in the First World War after which it was Newcastle Old Assembly Rooms & Crown Hotel Ltd up to the end of 1967. Then it closed down and fell into disrepair.  In 1974 the building evaded the risk of demolition after it was bought by two Newcastle businessmen who restored the building. In 2014 more renovations took place and the venue then contained a premier bar, restaurant and late-night lounge.  This venue was closed down in 2019.  Since then it seems have turned into ChinaWhite - - an exclusive VIP nightclub.  The Assembly Rooms are a Grade II listed building. 

After my blip shot was in the bag I headed for Primark. The Newcastle branch is a large shop on 4 floors and I looked around every one.  And I managed to find some things I wanted .... a lightweight padded jacket, some slippers ( reduced in price ), 2 tumblers, face toner ( reduced ) and lip serum.This all came to £26.50 so I only needed to pay £1.50 cash.

I did some food shopping in the indoor market and Tesco before going for the bus home.  The bus to town was on time but the one home was 20 mins late. 

Weather today was OK - dry and not too chilly.

Steps today - 9,535

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.