Caledonian Canal

Another lovely day around Fort Augustus. Loch Tarff and the south Loch Ness Road first followed by another forest trail, this time round an iron age fort. This afternoon I walked to Kytra Lock on the canal. It's about 2.5  miles west of Fort Augustus so a decent stretch but all flat of course. It's a very attractive part of the canal. The blip is of the approach to the lock. I believe that a big boat is coming through some time today but I didn't see it. I'll be back in the village later for something to eat so  I'll maybe see it then. 


Today has been a day of great ceremony, though not as far as I can see in Fort Augustus.  I've not followed the coronation on TV though I'll probably catch up with the highlights later. Here though is a story about a personal connection to the Stone of Destiny
 
I have a distant family link to the removal of the Stone  from Westminster Abbey on Christmas Day 1950. One of the four students involved was the son of the woman who would eventually marry my great uncle JPGP. By the time they married, quite late in life, the young man was grown up and had flown the nest. I don’t think I ever met him. His mother was a lovely woman. I last saw her in 1980, not long before her death. She was well loved in my family and, despite being a law abiding and monarchist tribe, older generations regarded the story of the Stone as a prank rather than as a crime.

However you've spent the day I hope you've had a good one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.