A day in the life

By Shelling

Grass

In the morning I visited a friend and former colleague , who is moving 500km north of here, to where she was born. She invited me for a coffee and gave me a few plants and two concrete works, a face-mask and a drawing in concrete. Over the years I've gathered things, paintings, sculptures, sheet-music, books and so on, from good friends leaving me memories from their creativity. Every time I see the thing, I connect it with the person who I had it from. The thing doesn't even have to be beautiful, I have a rather standard-looking yellow coffee mug that I probably wouldn't have kept, hadn't it been for the guitar-student who gave it to me after her exam twenty years ago. Now, I think of her each time I use it. I like the content look of the face-mask I was given today, it's now overlooking my garden. It resembles how I feel.

"Nature don't need a gardener", someone said and I like my wild garden for its spontaneous wildness. But, there are spots in it where I want to organise something out of my own idea, that stands out a bit just because it's organised. There is A LOT of grass in my garden that are allowed to grow as it will but some of it I use as a transient between the wild and the organised. Some of the grass has and aesthetic value (I think), while other grass is just green. This particular grass marks a border between the wild and my organised bit. I like the play of light in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.