Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

WAITING

I usually stay at home on Bank holidays but today I needed to go to the Metrocentre to pick up a parcel from a WH Smith locker.  I got my parcel without incident this time unlike the last time when it was difficult to get it out of the locker.

I had a mooch round the shops and ended up buying quite a lot.  Nothing expensive just stuff such as deodorant,shampoo, shower gel, air freshener, bird seed, mealworms, an ice cube tray, a salt grinder and some grapes. 

The Mono Monday theme today is to "challenge yourself with an appropriate entry in mono".  I decided to challenge myself to take a candid photograph of a stranger as this type of shot is well outside my comfort zone. 

The Metrocentre was very busy but most people had children with them so they were not suitable subjects.  There were lots of groups of teenage girls but I think they may have noticed someone taking photos of them.  So I picked this chap standing on his own waiting for someone.  He was definitely oblivious to the fact I was taking photos..  I sat near him for quite a while and he stood on one foot the whole time.  Most of the time he was on his phone but now and again he looked up toward the Game shop where Im guessing the person he was waiting for was shopping.  Thanks to ApolloFlyfor setting the challenge.

 When I got back home I saw my next door neighbours in their garden and we had a good catch up.  They have just come back from a 10 day holiday in Italy.  They stayed in  a few different places including Lake Iseo, Lake Garda and Venice using local trains and buses as their transport. They hired bikes and cycled for miles most days and hired mopeds for the last 2 days of the trip.  Great holiday --- apart from the weather.  It rained for 8 days out of the 10.  Not just showers - real downpours.  But fortunately the weather didn't deter them from getting out and about but they did get soaked on a regular basis.

When I got home I sat outside on the patio for a bit as the weather was still warm and sunny.

Steps today - 9,063

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.