Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Bottoms up and TT419 results

I did take myself off to Boat Harbour today to watch the whales go by.  They often come in close at this point as the land stretches out a bit further East than in Newy.   In the first extra taken with Buzz is the village of Boat Harbour and the rocky bits to the left are great viewing spots of the whale highway.

I noticed a group of about 4 whales not far off shore which had quite a bit of activity. There was some head sticking out (second extra), the tail bits that you can see in the main and it was only when I down loaded my image I could see that there was a dolphin in the mix as well (third extra).  That will give you a comparison in size of the dolphin to the humpback whale.

The most magical thing was of those that came in close to the shore I could hear them singing.  Not the rush of air when they blow (yes there was that too) but a singing noise.  It was magical and stopped me in my tracks.  I have never heard it before when they come in close.  I wonder what that was about.

And enough waffling on about the whales.  Thank you to everyone who joined in this week for TT419.  I was so impressed with those that went to the trouble of celebratory blips and there were some wonderful macros and close ups.  So in no particular order, hearts to the following:

Damn right I've got the blues  - Sheol
8 years of Tiny Tuesday - CALIFORNIAGIRL1
A celebratory Crown - Lesmark
Ladybird - Amanda T
Happy Birthday Tiny Tuesday - Hanulli

HMs to the following:

Tiny Tuesday Celebrations - Ingeborg
Tiny Tuesday Celebration - davidc
Today your 8 - 60plus
Tiny Tuesday - KangZu
Vivi e lascia vivere - sofiavillanueva

A reminder that for the rest of the month there are no optional themes, just get the macro, tubes extensions whatever out, if you don't have them, get in close or just blip something tiny.  All welcome.  And a reminder that H0tamer is still looking for hosts for October and December 2023.   Why not give it a go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.