An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Under a tree...

D was up early to walk Lola before it got too hot.  I was up early because I was excited about going to Potfest at Scone Palace (pot as in ceramics! :-))

It was absolutely mobbed when we got there and when I saw all the people relaxing on the lawns I wished we'd packed a picnic.  Will do next year (weather permitting :-)

This was our first time at Potfest and it certainly won't be the last.  Ninety exhibitors showcasing the best of their work in ceramics and oh heavens, what a feast for the eyes.  It was amazing!  I had no idea so many things could be done with clay!  Absolutely fascinating to see all the different artists styles.  I found the heads (see extras) fascinating and was drawn to many beautiful large, statement vases but they cost a fortune.  Maybe next year :-)

In the end I bought two things, a little egg separator (the strawberries are so good this year I am going to be making some pavlovas so will need to separate many eggs.  There, that's that purchase justified  :-) and the wall art that I've blipped.  It's called Under a Tree and the moment I saw it, I fell in love.  Made by Hilke Macintyre

Isn't it strange how certain pieces just stop you in your tracks and evoke certain emotions.  I have a favourite tree that at times of stress in my life I've imagined myself under (my happy place :-) and as soon as I saw this piece that's what it reminded me off.  A solid representation of my little fantasy.  After I bought it if I could have skipped, I would!  :-)

Deciding we better leave before we bankrupted ourselves, we headed back down the road and went for a late lunch to the Golf Club.  We both had avocado, bocconcini and tomato salad.  It was delicious.

Home by 4pm and straight to the garden for coffee and some gingerbread and to snooze read my book.  D also snoozed read his book ;-)) then had to go and get organised as the vocal harmony group he's in were singing tonight at an event in Kirkintilloch (can't remember what it was but I know it also featured a brass band :-)

In the meantime I've emptied and reloaded the dishwasher, crocheted, planned a painting, and watched some YouTube tutorials.  No comment on the rumour that I may also have had another snooze read of my book  ;-)

Oh!  Apparently this is my 4500th Blip.  Well there you go!    :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.