Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A day with the NHS

I’ve had an interesting time over the last few weeks. If by any chance you are squeamish about “women’s troubles”, just pop on the toaster. Otherwise think Les Dawson and Roy Barraclough as Cassie and Ada in the hilarious sketches of the past. (Probably totally politically incorrect now.)

A few weeks ago I had an MRI fir my left hip. The radiologist noticed that my uterus was slightly swollen. This set off a chain of events that resulted in me arriving at Hexham General at 0730 this morning. Yang was already there and greeting everyone!

Everything went smoothly and I am back home recovering from a small procedure to remove a polyp and from the anaesthetic. It’s a bit like a hangover and not unpleasant.

The staff, particularly the anaesthetist and junior medics, were as I remembered from my junior doctor days in the 1970s. They were cheerful, funny and caring. I had a lovely long chat with one of the team when I had come around.

It made me more hopeful about the future.

And the toast?

When I was a house officer on the Paediatrics Unit at the RVI in 1975, we did a night ward round. It was exhausting, because any action from that round fell to me to complete later. We did all sit in the staff room afterwards, drank lots of tea and consumed large quantities of buttered toast.

Today triggered that memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.