carliewired

By carliewired

88 F/ 31 C

In smoke...and nothing
looks quite as it should - but it
can all change again

~carliewired

At 6 I was on my  way to the south shore to take the drive up and over Rose Hill Road.

I got a shot of the bleary sun as I drove up to the Merritt Highway. I turned left at Knutsford  noting the road closure on Long Lake Road due to the wildfire at Ross Moore Lake.

I thought this drive might give me some perspective of the fire, but really all there was to see was banks of smoke. I got shots of the ranchlands now looking rather dried out in our drought. 

I stopped at the crest of the hill to get a smoky panorama of the city and my mountains. 

I had been watching carefully for deer all along this drive. It wasn't until I was at the traffic light just below my house that I spotted a doe and her fawn making their way across the hillside. I managed to get a shot of the doe poised on the hill.

I'm in for the day as usual. It will be a quiet one for sure!

The town of Osoyoos, British Columbia issued an evacuation order at 10 PM last evening. A wildfire that started across the border in the state of Washington jumped into our province in short order. The town has declared a State of Emergency. 

We have lost another young firefighter over the weekend. A 25 year old man from Ontario has died fighting the largest wildfire in our history, the Donnie Creek fire near Ft. St. John. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.