carliewired

By carliewired

99 F/ 37 C

A big event will
require a big clean-up, too.
Today is the day!

~carliewired

I was up at 4:30 in the dark so I waited until 5:30 to drive away from the house. I thought I'd have a look at Riverside Park in the downtown. RibFest, a three-day event, just ended last evening so I wanted to see what shape things were in this morning.

The event had taken up the middle of the park with its entertainments and vendors and a myriad of tents. So, I had to drive to the east end of the park to find a spot to park and get in. 

I walked the short distance between the railway bridge and the pier on the Rivers Trail. I was too early to catch the sunrise over my mountains. I noticed that something like a carpet runner had been added to the shoreline. No doubt that will assist those with wheels to get down on the beach.  Some chairs and tables seemed to have escaped from the beer garden. I found them near the pier on the Rivers Trail. Gulls were in great abundance along the shore and in the park. I'm sure they've found many interesting morsels. There were lots of tents and vehicles to be removed. Garbage was overflowing, so city workers will be very busy today.  

I met a young Australian biking through the park. He stopped me by the pier to ask about beavers on the river. He plans to bike the city during winter and ski for the season. He drove on to the downtown and I left a quilted heart near the pier. 

I'm home with my sorry feet up again. I'd like a trip to the quilt store this morning before it's hot but my feet may not be up to it after the walk I did already. 

I've switched off my automatic sprinkling system and must only handwater until the restrictions are lifted. Since we are in drought, that could be quite a while. 

,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.