Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Walkies With Ice Cream

Sweden 2023 - Day 3

It was a grey and cool day today but we were brave and ventured out on another one of my favourite outings, combined with Alice’s 11 o’clock walkies. We even took a sandwich with us!

We intended to walk along a stretch of the Kinda Kanal between two sets of locks. As soon as we started we realised that a well-known passenger boat was coming and about to go through the first set of locks. This was the M/S Kind, which we had traveled in as passengers for a half day the first time I visited Linköping. So I was delighted to see it go through the short lock stairway.

Once the boat was through, we continued our walk to the next set of locks. This is our favourite spot for a picnic. Not only is there a pretty marina and picnic tables but there is the very important ‘Ice Cream Hut’ where there is a self-serve freezer with a wide range of ice creams. Payment is on the honour system for either coins or a direct bank transfer. We stopped and had the sandwiches we brought with us, followed by the ice cream of our choice. I’ve been here several times on previous visits, although sadly the ice cream hut is never open when I visit in the winter.

We went on another small circular walk nearby and then eventually made our way back to the car, dodging the rain as we went.

We had a relaxing rest of the afternoon, sitting on the enclosed balcony watching the rain. Suddenly and out of nowhere I got a really bad case of vertigo and I felt really unwell the rest of the day. Thankfully I was in good hands (and paws!), but it took me a day or two to feel normal again.

I’m catching up on many days of blips from my holiday!


My first visit to the Ice Cream hut

The trip on M/S Kinda

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.